Dear Mum – Mother’s Day 2017

Dear Mummum,

This is all about you!

When life wasn’t this hard!

I was not feeling like writing today, I am struggling through a writer’s block. But I needed to write this post, because even though you did not feel like doing a lot of things for the last 17 years that I came into your life, you did, sometimes, you had had to.

You probably gave up the wish to travel the world to pay for my education, sacrificed that random shopping spree for the surprise birthday gift you knew I wanted. I don’t really know, because you never told me. Because you kept quiet, subconsciously knowing that you deserved better.

Slayin’ it since forever!

You did all this while having an option, not to have a baby, not to provide the best for him, to be selfish. You could have gone with the other option, like a lot of people do, but you didn’t and that is why I love you. You chose the harder path, the path to become a mother, and that is why I adore you. You gave me life and you continue doing so, and that is why I am grateful!

Thank you would be a word too small and insufficient!

Love,

The boy who was in your tummy for 9 months

10 Comments Add yours

  1. A lovely gift to your mom. 🙂 I hope she got to read it and smile.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. She was absolutely delighted!! Thanks for stopping by…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Rajat Lahiri says:

    Very good. A good write up for your mother.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad that you liked it!

      Like

  3. Tumpa Roy says:

    Excellent writing. Lots of adore. Proud of my Prince Charming

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Tirthankar Das says:

    Feeling like a critique’s block when I touch the screen on the comment box!

    What an expression to convey your feeling for Apu who besides being your mother happens to be a dear friend of mine and I know from the core of my heart how pure a soul she is! That makes things easier for me to understand the person for whom this eloquence is made. To substantiate the feeling with reality.

    Your mom deserved nothing less than a son like you. Any other than this would have been a denial of justice to her. And we are happy that didn’t happen!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! Glad you liked it! 💕

      Like

  5. This is so nice! 👍🏻

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

