The preaching of a bird 

Kakoli was her name, meaning the preaching of a bird. I had never thought she would loose the battle, she was the strongest person I had ever known. I don’t know any other way to put this, but I never thought she would leave us all alone.

My aunt was the glass half full kind of a person. I remember the times we went to church together, the times she would sit beside me and narrate stories, the times when she would bring a cutlet for me while returning from office. I’ll miss her a lot. I feel sad for her, but more so for my sister, who went motherless. I would love to tell her things like “she’ll always watch over you” or “she’s gone nowhere”, but deep down I know that quotes like these look lovely on printed pages and movie screens, not so much in life.

I remember the times when I and this sister of mine played power rangers on the veranda of my ancestral house. Those were the times when we thought life couldn’t get any harsher. The sad part was, life was ready with lemons, we weren’t ready with juicers.

I haven’t figured out what to say to my sister when I next meet her. Didi, if you are reading this post… stay strong and remember I’ll be there for you, always.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. sonal dugar says:

    Yeah sure!!
    I would love if you grant me the opportunity to have your feedback on my blogs..

    Like

  2. sonal dugar says:

    I recently saw your article in toi ‘blogging as a career’

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That is great! Do follow Times Of India for more of my articles alongside my blog…Thanks for visiting!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. sonal dugar says:

    That was beautiful!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. These are very tender thoughts, beautifully expressed.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

