Your Battle ~ Entry One

“Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a battle you know nothing about.”
― Wendy Mass, The Candymakers

Inspired by this quote I asked people to share the story of the battle they are fighting on a day to day basis with me at jishnublogs@gmail.com.  I have already received my first feature-able entry from someone I was pleasantly surprised to receive it from (the passage has been edited for literary and grammatical errors):

I am one of your friend from school. I would like to remain anonymous, because I am not ready to come out yet. I will not come out because my parents will kick me out of the house and nobody will talk to me. When I saw your post on your Facebook page, I thought it was a nice way to lighten the load that I carry. I want to die. I think I am worthless because I am good at nothing, neither at academics nor at extra-carriculars. I think I will gather enough courage one day to speak up and tell everybody what I am, and being you is not a sin. Thankyou for giving me a place to blurt out my feelings, but please do not disclose my name.

– Girl, Anonymous, 16

I am truly supportive of her courage to speak the truth and her overwhelming endeavour to reach out to me. I probably would never understandhow tough life is for her. While our society does accept my sexual orientation, they are not open minded to the LGBTQ community. I will not be able to advice her with her situation but I will try my best to support her till she gathers enough courage to come out of the closet.

What battle are you fighting? Send in your entry and you could be featured as well.

Leave a Reply

