E-books Vs Paperbacks – The eternal battle

The battle has been going on forever. To go with the old love or the new interest, that is the question! Going by my emotional opinion and the saying “Old is gold” I always preferred traditional printed paper books to e-books, but recently I have been trusting my Kindle™ a little too much. At times I have had that dilemma where I can’t decide whether to spend money on a digital file or a wonderful paperback.

An e-reader has its own perks. It is definitely lighter than a paperback; what’s more, it contains a bunch of paperbacks. You can always buy books on the go and immediately after you finish one and it is a lot cheaper than real paperback versions of the same work piece. You don’t need external light and the battery lasts for weeks and in case you spill some coffee on it, it won’t be all shaggy and bendy. For aggressive readers, you can read while occupying only one hand or none at all. You can save your time to share your progress on Goodreads™ as the e-reader automatically does it for you. Moreover, you can adjust the text size and font to cater to your personal requirements. Lastly, you can get a bunch of free e-books to read.

Stop shouting “traitor!” I love traditional ink and paper books too, from the smell of freshly pressed ones to the ones which had remained closed for decades, it is lovely. To hold a real book in your hand is a different feeling altogether, the cover art, feeling the texture of the pages and visiting a bookstore or a library is just magical, no denying that, but if you think a little rationally and let go of your overpowering nostalgia you might just realize that e-books are better in a million ways. (Or are they?)

What do you think?

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Amy Sampson says:

    I buy e-books 99% of the time. I don’t enjoy the paper experience at all now that I’ve gotten a taste of digital format.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s great! Thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I am nostalgic. I have this thing for the feel of a book in my hands. With the writing of my own posts and the reading of other bloggers, digital access has become a necessity. I am a fan of outbook.com and download a lot of e-books. Getting a digital copy when my money is funny is great though. However, I will always be a fan of the hand-held books.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I didn’t there would be a day that I would prefer an e-reader to an actual book but I have crossed over. Although all those things about physical books are all true, given a choice when it’s time to read, I always reach for my Kindle. Now, crafts books are different. The physical book always wins 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Same here…thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I choice would be paperback for sure. It gives me an immense pleasure 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I like paperback because looking at the screen to long gives me a headache (I do it for 11 hours for work). I like to be able to take the paperback anywhere I want without being worried an electronic device is going to get messed up.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Absolutely! You have a point.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

